Election Profile

Purba Medinipur district with its headquarter at Tamluk was carved out of erstwhile district of Midnapore on 1st January 2002 under Burdwan Division. It is located in the southern part of West Bengal surrounded by Rupnarayan & Hooghly rivers in the East, Paschim Medinipur district in the West and North and Bay of Bengal in the South. Total area is 4151.64 sq.km predominantly under agriculture and partly under industries. It has four Sub-divisions namely Tamluk, Haldia, Contai and Egra, 25 Developmental Blocks, 21 Police Stations and 5 Municipalities.
After the delimitation, Purba Medinipur has two Parliamentary Constituencies and sixteen Assembly Constitutencies. EPIC coverage as well as electors under photo roll are higher than the State average. 99.26% of the total electors in the district have EPIC and more than 90% of the electors are under Photo electoral roll. All out efforts have been made to bring all the voters of the district under EPIC by conducting special camps for migrant as well as other floating population in the district. The Elector Population ratio is 0.59, marginally higher than the State. Effective strategy will be adopted to include more number of voters in the age group of 18-19 & 20-29 and delete dead, shifted and repeated voters in the ongoing Summary Revision.